USA Trip – July 2010. King’s Island   4 comments

Back on the coach for the 4 mile ( 😎 πŸ˜€ ) trip to

King’s Island – Wednesday 28th July

This is a sister park to King’s Dominion, which I visited on the 2009 trip. A lot of the same rides feature in both parks, and the layout of the two is quite similar – including the replica of the Eiffel Tower.

The first two rides of the day weren’t on any of these though.

The first was on Diamondback – a B&M Hypercoaster



The first few rides on this coaster were rather disappointing. With a height of 230 feet, the lift hill was bound to be noticeable πŸ˜‰ and the first drop is fast and breath taking. But it just lacks something. A ride that is so smooth with no curves does not really give much of a thrill (other that that associated with its height) – although it is good for airtime over the crests of subsequent hills.

Then I rode it in the back seat, and found there was more airtime but not really any more thrills. Well, except when we went through the splashdown. I knew that this was generated by scoops at the rear of the train and that I was likely to get sprayed in the back seat, but I was somewhat vocal when the water actually hit me on my shoulder.

Later in the day I rode Diamondback again in the next to back row, and I must say that once it had warmed up properly it gave a much better ride. There is still something missing from it for me though. I overheard some of our party dismiss it as a “tea and biscuits coaster” (Note the t-shirts πŸ˜‰ )

Although the forces associated with the airtime should not be underestimated.

Next up was the Beast

My first ride on this was in the second row, and what a disappointment. There were trim brakes everywhere, and what looked an amazing coaster was decidedly average. I really could not understand why all those trims had been added (I was told it had run for several years without them). But then I rode it in the back seat. Even with those trims, it is still a pretty wild coaster – and rough in places. It was actually a good ride, but I would not have liked to be in the back part of the train without those trims – I am sure it would have hurt.

Next up was Vortex – an Arrow multi-looper. Past experience says that these are best ridden near the front, but my mate was too keen to ride it to wait for that (he’d seen the coaster on a book he was given as a kid, so it’s not surprising he was excited πŸ˜‰ ) so we rode in the rear half of the train. I don’t enjoy rides where I am fighting the restraints all the way round so as to avoid bashing my ears 😦

Next was a coaster that I knew was going to be more fun than painful – the Backlot Stunt Coaster. The ride was much as I remembered it from King’s Dominion, although I was disappointed to note that the detailing on the ride cars seemed to have been lost.

Next up was Flight of Fear. A fun ride – near the front of the train. But not very photogenic, since it is totally indoor and with very little light.

Then it was on to Firehawk, a Vekoma Flying Dutchman. There is no doubt that this is a more thrilling ride than AIR – but at a price. In AIR I find that the restraint holds me in place and I move nicely with the train, on Firehawk I was thrown against the restraint every time the train changed direction. Personally, I prefer the experience from AIR – but I know that others will disagree with that statement πŸ™‚

As seen above, the racer was racing – so that had to be done next.

Time to try some of the junior coasters πŸ™‚ Firstly, Woodstock Express. (Yes – it’s blue πŸ˜‰ )

(My mate took some convincing to ride this one :lol:)

And then the Flying Ace Aerial Chase – a suspended family coaster.

We also did Invertigo – an inverted Boomerang, which was surprisingly good (and not too painful) and Congo Falls, a double drop water ride which was actually quite fun. And not too wet, provided that you did not hang round in the splash zone on the way out of the station.

Adventure Express was a fun Arrow Mine Train – a proper coaster, not a powered ride. It’s layout was quite interesting, with 2 lift hills – neither of which were at the beginning of the ride. I didn’t get any photos though, only partially because much of this ride is hidden from view.

The park’s other woodie is not running this season – Son of Beast. Fellow travellers who had ridden it in the past said that was a good thing! The future of the ride is uncertain, but it was pointed out that it is still standing while they decide it’s future.

There was also a 315 feet tall gyro drop tower, which I did not have time to do. Here’s a few shots on sports setting again πŸ˜‰

And then it was time to head back to the coach. Only 213 miles to the next hotel…..

Click here to read about the next part of the trip Click here to read about the previous part of the trip

 

4 responses to “USA Trip – July 2010. King’s Island

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Yeah you know it’s blue, that’s why it’s awesome πŸ˜‰ << That word πŸ˜›

    I love Diamondback and truely think it lived up to the hype, I also love Vortex (10000000 points for Roller Coaster character) and Firehawk, although I think Air has a lot more to give πŸ™‚ I think Backlot has lost a lot of what it used to be, I used to enjoy it a lot, but I feel as though something is missing, maybe my enthusiasm has evolved, however, I still like Vekoma SLC's, so maybe not. πŸ˜‰

    The Beast, I love The Beast, however it does scare the crap out of me, it's so intimidating. I only regret not riding it before the days of "the loop". 😦

    Diamondbacks phone haul is genius, in the picture I can see 4 Blackberrys, 2 Alcatel Lobsters, 3 Motorola Timeports, a Motorola PEBL and a Samsung Toco…. Two of the listed phones might be mine. πŸ˜‰

    • Are you feeling ok Martin? πŸ˜† I’m sure the Beast never had a loop – it was Son of Beast that did.

      I’ve not ridden Son of Beast at all, but those who have were quite relieved that it was not running when we visited. They did say that the loop used to be the smoothest part of the coaster though.

  2. Bugger, yeah, Son of Beast *checks temperature πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

