Germany 2010 – Day 2. Part 3   4 comments

It was a shortish drive to the hotel for the night in Munich, where we checked in; freshened up and then headed out by bus and underground train to the Munich Beer Festival.

Never having been to Oktoberfest before, I was overwhelmed by the sheer scale of the event. Of course I had expected large beer tents, although these seemed like semi-permanent structures. What I had not expected was the quantity of rides and other attractions that were there. I know of Olympia Looping, but again I was surprised by its large size – much bigger than I had been expecting.

First, and second rides were on Olympia Looping. It just had to be done, even though the restraint system can be a bit of a spine-crusher, and even managed to trap my arm for part of the second ride. But it was well worth it (even at €7 a time – Germany is not cheap!)

The next 2 pictures are courtesy of Steve Smith, one of my fellow travellers. I think I might have been a little too excited to take many photos that evening πŸ˜†



Next up was Hollenblitz – an indoor coaster that one of my friends had ridden before and was keen to ride again, It is difficult to describe this ride, so I won’t even try. However, I will say that if you ever get the chance then try it I think you will be pleasantly surprised by the experience

I then suggested that we try a flat ride, although I was keen for it to be something not available in the UK. We settled on this one.

It sort of did what one would expect. There is only so much that can be done with that configuration. But it did have a surprise in its operation, in that the rotation of the cars could be very quickly reversed which really threw you around (in a good way). One of my friends commented that motion caused him to grey out!

General view – which includes Alpinabahn, another large travelling coaster – but one I did not ride on this visit.

This is one of the ghost trains. They are impressive, but seem more like a chamber of horrors than a ghost train to me. I prefer something with more surprises πŸ˜‰

My friend wanted to ride the Frisbee next. Never having ridden one before, I went along. Never again! I’m still not sure what it is about this ride, but I’ve never been closer to vomiting on a ride πŸ˜•

It consists of a circular gondola, with the seats facing inwards, suspended on a pendulum. I know that similar rides can leave me feeling a little queasy, but I think this is the first one I have ridden with a solid floor and the support actually in the centre where it can be seen. Whatever the case, I declined to ride a similar one later in the week.

The final ride of the night was on the Rocket. It’s not as scary as it looks – not quite ;). It’s certainly an interesting experience. No photos from me, but it was probably this ride http://www.funfairworld.co.uk/Funtime_Rocket/index.htm

By now, the place was closing – and it was time to find our way back to meet up with the others. The lights were already starting to go out. And food places were shutting, even though there were people waiting. We got back to the hotel, and hit the bar for a couple of drinks – since some of us had not got any at Oktoberfest!!!!

Click here to read about the next part of the trip Click here to read about the previous part of the trip

 

4 responses to “Germany 2010 – Day 2. Part 3

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Interesting stuff. I’m thinking of going to Oktoberfest with some friends, maybe next year, and this sort of first-hand info is great. It looks like so much fun πŸ™‚

    • It certainly is fun πŸ™‚ I was really impressed, and want to go back again.

      I’d suggest a minimum of three hours there though – one hour to look around and maybe take photos; another hour to do the rides and then a third hour to sample some beers.

      Of course, if you have plenty of money and a good capacity for beer you might want to stay there longer.

      • Yeah I think we would stay for longer than that! We’d probably stay there most of the evening, going on the rides and drinking. We’d probably stay for several days, although we wouldn’t spend every one at the festival, since Munich is such an interesting city.

  2. Pingback: A Guide to Oktoberfest Guides « Anonymousteenager's Blog

Leave a Reply

